What were you thankful for?

Thanksgiving Dinner

Thanksgiving Dinner (Photo credit: The Vault DFW)

What did you give thanks for when you sat down for your Thanksgiving dinner?

I gave thanks for the normal things… my family, the roof over our heads, having health insurance (even though we pay more for it now than we used to), my husband having a job and relative job security….

We are very lucky and have a lot to be thankful for and that is something to be thankful for.

I am also thankful that my family can really talk politics.  My ultra-conservative mom tried to convince us that Obama and his muslim buddies were partying and planning lots of evil things!  This lead to my dad sharing how the cuts to the military and the middle east flaring up meant that thing were going to get really ugly really quickly… which plays into to Obama’s and his muslim buddies plan for world domination.   My in-laws were more interested in how all of this will affect the stock market, but hey if the world ends when the Mayan Calendar ends, then who cares.

Got to love family time!

So I figured you may as in need of a good laugh as we were…

Enhanced by Zemanta
One thought on “What were you thankful for?

  1. I made a similar post about this on facebook. I was thankful for a roof over my head and food on my table. 2 simple things that many in the world have never experienced. I wanted to add a note on your comment about military budget cuts….. I may have a little insight on this and I can say, military members will not be destitute with these cuts. The only reason there is such a big fuss is because instead of buying their new BMW’s every other year, service members will have to watch their money a little more carefully(basically become like the rest of the united states). Over in Europe, the average officer with 3 years or less in service is given $3,000 a month towards rent, and another $800 on top of that for utilities. And the general public thinks all this military money is being spent on weapons, what a joke.

    I enjoy your blog and look forward to future posts 🙂

Leave a Reply

